To improve the quality of education, universities should spend more money on salaries for university professors. Agree or disagree?

The topics discuss about a better environment for education are always the hottest issue. when it comes to the question of to improve the quality of education, in the aspect on which should the universities spend more money on salaries for university professors, to a large extent, i disagree.

Firstly, I doubt the efficacy of increasing salaries for the university professors will improve the quality of education, mainly because the salary of university professors is rather stable and higher than average when compare to other occupation. if not adding enormous amount of money to the university professors, the ratio of the salary change has little effect to them, not to say that they will try to enhance their quality of teaching.

Secondly, spending more time on teaching such as preparing for materials for lectures or answering students' questions after class are indeed helpful in improving quality of education, however, increasing university professors' salaries will not give them extra time for their teachings. What occupy their time are mostly the researches they are having, perhaps lowering the number require for research paper submission can relief more free time for them, hence the time can be spent on teaching.

Thirdly, spending money on teaching assistants may have a better outcome in improving teaching quality than spending on universities professors. Most teaching assistants are require and responsible for teaching tutorial lessons, also answering students' questions, and marking students' exam paper. they may have greater need for money in which have greater effect on them to improve their skills in teaching and solving student's problems.

To sum up, as the above reasons shows that increasing university professors' salaries is not the major factor to improve teaching quality and have a greater effect if the target is instead on teaching assistants, I disagree with the statement.