Independent Writing Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing sports can teach people lessons about life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people believe that parents should pay their children a small amount of money to do jobs around the home (such as washing the dishes or taking out the garbage), while other people believe that parents should not pay their children to do these tasks. Which view do you agree with, and why?

As an inseparable part of culture-oriented civilizations, family is inextricably intertwined with the individual's life, since people's fate is susceptible to the influence of the lessons they gain in this setting. However, the question of whether parents should pay their children money to do household chores or not, has aroused as the subject of controversy among the psychologists. When it comes to my position, I personally subscribe to the view that parents should pay money in exchange for their children's cooperation in jobs around the home. I have some reasons, two of which will be aptly explicated hereunder.

The first reason worth discussing here is that paying money to children is a core motive for them to eagerly take part in house affairs which positively prepare them to land a decent job in the future. As a matter of fact, participating in teamwork not only help children to be aware of their parents’ efforts for them, but also teach them how to divide different responsibilities in different situations. To be more specific, they should have a commitment to do the assigned duties under any circumstances, it stands to reason that they learn how to multi-task under lots of pressure and how to improvise practical solutions to deal with challenges they will confront in real-life situations. As a case in point, I vividly remember, when I had two exams last semester, as well as I should wash the dishes and cook in the day before the exam. I appropriately manage all the affairs by time scheduling and tracking the plan meticulously. To clarify, I studied the quiz materials one week before the exam and the day before the exam having finished all the jobs related to me at home, I reviewed the lessons. Had I not be motivated by the money, I would not have done the tasks. Hence, my personal experience competently corroborates the fact that paying money in exchange for the children's engaging in household tasks is significantly improve their sense of responsibility, which is the most crucial pillar to be successful in the job market, albeit difficult at times.

By the same token, another equally paramount point to be mentioned is that children active participation in home-related affairs provides an opportune time for them to improve some exclusive skills, which prepare them for their independent life. Indeed, gaining money in exchange for performing some tasks teach an important lesson to the children that is the high value of earning money. Before that time, children play just as a consumer role, and even though they do not have a critical necessity to buy, they might shop too much. In contrary, after the applying task divisions and paying money, children learn how to manage their monetary affairs, as well as exercise their decision-making skill. Furthermore, they perceive that they should rely on their own budget rather than their parents, therefore they get a broad grasp on their expenditure management which is an essential prerequisite for getting ready in the independent life. From the psychological perspective, I recently read a scientific article about the development of human brain; according to this research, the rate of success among people who experience financial independent in the lower ages is significantly higher than those who do not experience this. Consequently, these worthwhile statistics throw some light on the point that getting involved in household chores and accumulating money increase children capability to tackle independent life challenges.

By and large, according to the above-mentioned reasons, I strongly agree with this standpoint that the more children engage in home-related jobs, the more prosperously they live in the near future. I strongly recommended that government allocate extra budget for families whose children take part in household chores.