Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Playing sports can teach people lessons about life. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It goes without saying that from ancient times up until today’s modern life, every individual has been struggling to take a lesson from whatever that is happening in their life; playing sport is not an exception to this preconception. There has been a controversial debate among people about the notion that whether playing sports can yield any lessons for individual or not. While many people consider playing sports a recreational activity, I take one step forward and hold the view that playing sports can teach people lessons about life. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoint are illustrated in the following paragraphs.

The first and paramount reason which is worth mentioning is that playing sports can reinforce people’s cooperative behavior which is of utmost importance in today’s society. It is no secret to anyone that the prerequisite of playing sports is having a sense of espirit de corps which drives the team to its potential efficiency. Although every player in a team sport like basketball, football, and the like might have one personal goal, none of them will ignore the team’s overall aim which is to win. Under such a circumstance, the winning goal becomes the glue that holds every player together to have allegiance to the team triumph. The same idea is applicable for one’s personal life in which cooperation has been an accentuated property in one’s daily life. To put it into a more vivid picture, my older brother who is a football player is endowed with an unexampled sense of cooperation in his occupation. Never does he consider his own goal ahead of the aims of the company he works for, even at the expense of his own failure. It is well believed that a sense of cooperation in sport can shed lights on individual’s personal life.

Furthermore, another equally valuable lesson that can be learnt through playing sport is a sense of sympathy and sacrifice. Undeniably, no one can ignore the necessity of being sympathetic and sacrificing both in personal life and in sports. To put it in other words, engaging in a sport will make people experience some unforgiving emotional conditions which are a platform making people equipped with a sense of sympathy. For illustration, having watched the Paralympic Games, it came as shock to me when I saw a scene in which one of the players fell down in the field and the other one helped him unconditionally, even in such a golden moment in which he could become the champion. Having lost his championship just to give his competitor a hand means nothing but sacrifice. Every such moment in sport can have a profound influence on our life if one tries to take lessons.

In conclusion, having considered all the aforementioned reasons and points into consideration, I do believe that playing sports can be influential for everyone since people learn how to be cooperative and sympathize others. Such golden moment can be duplicated in social and personal life of people to make their life more enjoyable.