Do you agree or disagree? it is difficult for teachers to be both popular and effective in helping students in learning.

It goes without saying that teachers are the building blocks of every educational system who can highly affect students in a positive or negative way. There has been a debate among practitioners over the idea that those teachers who are friendly and are liked by the majority of students cannot be as effective as those who are strict and more disciplinary. Personally speaking, I disagree to this false premise and believe exactly the opposite. The reasons to substantiate my point of view are presented in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, it is undeniable that teachers are the pillars on the basis of whom students can flourish and blossom. Moreover, psychologically speaking it is believed by many people and scholars that the more students like a teacher, the better they will pay attention to that course material. To put it in other words, there is a direct and significant relationship between the popularity of teachers and the effectiveness of learning by children. As an illustration, I can remember while I was at elementary school, I had difficulty grasping the gist and content of mathematics and I also used to blame my teacher. Every time, my mother punished me for a low mark on this tedious course, I kept saying that the teacher is the one she should talk to not me! When the problem became worse, my mother asked the principal of school and other parents about other kids’ productivity on this course. Fortunately, it was apparent that since most of the students did not like the teacher, they were not eager to listen and study that specific course. The dean of the school hired a new teacher who was head and shoulder above the previous teacher. Soon the new teacher became the most popular in the school and not even one student fail mathematics. It is surprising that students at any age tend to focus more on the materials being presented from a teacher whom they like more.

Furthermore, another privilege of a teacher’s popularity is the idea that students are inclined to bond and establish rapport with teacher whom they like the most. It is taken for granted that the friendly atmosphere between teachers and students, no matter how old they are, can positively overshadow students’ feeling and attitude toward his or her curriculum. A study conducted in Tehran University required students to fill out a questionnaire in order to find out whether there have been any changes in their learning productivity after spending a semester with a popular teacher whom they liked the most. Undeniably, the results came as a shock that the average of student learning and progress has been doubled because of the friendly relationship student had with the teacher. Moreover, it is inevitable that since students want to be closer with the teacher and strengthen their connection, they tend to pay more attention to the course being taught by the popular teacher, they also meticulously observe the teacher’s behavior to behave in the exact same manner, since they consider the teacher as a role model.

In sum, having considered the aforementioned reasons into account, I believe that there is a direct relationship between the teachers’ popularity and the degree of students’ learnability. In the wake of this direct and positive relationship, students start bonding with the teacher and moreover, they will pay more attention to the course being taught. I highly recommend teachers to consider that students’ productivity and learnability are affected with the way they behave in the class.