Some people prefer to get up early in the morning and start the day’s work. Others prefer to get up later in the day and work until late at night. Which one do you prefer?

Since the dawn of humanity, mankind has always been concerned about one important element of their lives which is sleeping. At some point in time, each person may face the dilemma of being a night owl or an early bird, the choice of which can strongly affect his or her life. Having known my biological timetable and being aware of the reaction of my body, I prefer to be an early riser. Sustain one’s health and enhancing brain productivity are among the most conspicuous reasons to get up early in the morning.

There has always been a heated debate among scholars about the health consequences of getting up early or staying up late at night. Recently, research has shown that most of early risers take advantage of a better physical and mental health due to the amount of sleep they get at night. In this vein, a research conducted at Arizona State University reveals that besides being physically and mentally healthy, early risers are more positive, ambitious, and optimistic than the control group who preferred to work late at night. What’s more, people who rise early in the morning have more time to do their daily schedule and since they get enough sleep at night, they are energetic in the morning. However, according to many scholars, people who stay late at night are prone to various diseases; insomnia, anomia, heart stroke, and mental problems are among the most significant consequences.

Not only can early risers benefit from the health issues, they can also be granted the highly productivity of their mind. It is no secret to anyone that when a person gets up early in the morning, the brain will be much more charged and ready than in the middle of the day. Since there is less distraction in daytime, one can fully concentrate on his or her schedule. The rush time at night, however, causes more distraction which not only will demotivate people, but also will make them anxious and embarrassed. Obviously, some people enjoy the serenity of nighttime, however, the unforgiving mental pressure of time shortage cannot be denied.

To put it in a nutshell, although it is one’s personal choice whether to be an early riser or a night owl, the benefit of being an early riser cannot be ignored because of both the health issues and the productivity of the brain.