INDEPENDENT WRITING TASK Question Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Leadership comes naturally one cannot learn to be a leader Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Without any doubt, a good leader plays a crucial role in any organization's success and prosperity in the long-term. The debate on whether or not leadership can be learned has been a controversial issue for a long time. While many people posit that leadership is an intrinsic characteristic and cannot be developed externally by everyone, I would argue that talent is highly overrated in this regard and one can be a great leader by putting effort and time into learning all aspects of leadership. I will be justifying my stance in more detail hereunder.

To begin with, leadership is a skill that people can learn by practicing. Moreover, leadership itself consists of many features, among which team playing, showing up, caring, positive attitude, and doing the right things are some of the most noticeable ones, in my opinion. These characteristics virtually require no talent or distinct ability. To be more specific, based on the aforementioned characteristics, a good leader is someone who is present mentally and physically, actively contributes to the group, keeps the team informed, listens to them carefully, and has a positive outlook and high level of energy. Undoubtedly, many other aspects can be added to the above list, all of which require a great desire and determination rather than talent.

Secondly, many people consider leadership and being a great leader as a destination. However, based on a famous relevant book, which name eludes me at the moment, leadership is a continuum. By understanding this concept, great leaders would emerge, and they continue to refine, develop, and build the process by making effort consistently. Therefore, without any leadership talent, by putting a lot of effort and persistence, and by understanding some basic notions, all people potentially can become great leaders. Although it is clear that some people are doing better in this process and learning some aspects faster, the effect of striving and desire substantially outweigh the talent.

Thus, with all this taken into account, talent should not be an obstacle to halt people from trying to reach their goal of becoming a great leader. Like the other skills, leadership can be achieved by making enough attempts and paying attention to some important details and features of the leading process.