It is better for children to choose jobs that are similar to their parents’ jobs than to choose jobs that are very different from their parents’ jobs. Agree or disagree?

I utterly disagree with the statement. However, some strongly defend this point of view that children should continue their parent’s footsteps and their prosperity is depended whether they listen to their elder’s experiences. I, to some states, agree with them but, choosing a career just because of parents in my opinion is absurd. Regarding the diversities in personalities, the constant change in society in our era and at the end alternation of the demands in goods and services, I believe that deciding a major and field to start working on should be about what an individual wants not about their family history.

I believe we can all agree to the idea that the generations that are being born now, born in past and will be born in future are very different in every way. The constant and hasten developments of technology has brought lots of facilities and other convenience to our lives. Although, nowadays we live in rush and deal with lots of pressure in our work environments but the jobs and the things we do are very different than what our parents did. The highly competitive environment of these days has made this generation to continue moving forward using newer methods and innovations in producing, advertising and marketing. Therefore, experiences of our parents and their tips in how they did their jobs won't work much for us. As a consequence, it is better to choose an occupation that we are able to handle and flourish in it.

The diversity in personalities are absolutely vivid and obvious even inside a family with kids in same age. Though, perseverance, education and the advocate of family is important in someone’s skills being thrived but the inner talents and interest of a person is completely special and virtually unlikely to change. Hence, it is possible that kids won't like their parent’s jobs which happens frequently and even if they did they wouldn't have the adequate skill to handle the job as well as them. For instance, my mother is an accountant but my sister hates math and is nowhere near being talented on it. For that reason, thinking of becoming an accountant in future is like pure nightmare for her.

Following the cultural changes in society and as a result the generations, people choose very different hobbies and have many different demands for their lives. Accordingly, the jobs that used to be profitable in past now are in depression. For example, our parents all used to pay for a photographer to take their pictures on Christmas, Easter or other celebrations and print it for them but nowadays with the extension of the smart phones and cameras people mostly shoot for themselves and only limited people with limited jobs pay for professional photographers. In order to that, it is understandable why kids should choose majors other than their parents.

Consequently, choosing a job should be based upon the contemporary demands in the market and the jobs that are more likely and are potential to make progress instead of the jobs that were in prestige in past.