It is better for children to grow up in the countryside than in a big city. Do you agree or disagree?

Despite bearing some similarities, the differences between living in large cities and living in the countryside are remarkable. Some people are the leading proponents of the belief that it is better for children to grown up in the rural areas. However, I strongly assert that although living in big cities has some demerits, its advantages noticeably outweigh its disadvantages. In the following paragraphs, I will aptly substantiate my viewpoint.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that living in the cities has some drawbacks. Air pollution is a conspicuous problem in big cities which may affect children’s health negatively. Air pollution is associated with cardio-vascular, respiratory, and visual problems such as asthma and eye irritation. Furthermore, living in big cities brings about anxiety and tension to children. Spending countless hours in congested traffic, or traveling from one side of the city to the other side is not beneficial for children, neither is it pleasurable. The aforementioned problems are common to city-life. On the other hand, there is a number of remarkable benefits in city-life.

For one, there is a plethora of prestigious and potent educational facilities in big cities. These powerful institutions employ lots of experienced and talented teachers and professors. Studying in these institutions paves the way for having a bright future. Children can learn innumerable and valuable things from the teachers, as well as broaden their horizons. They can become prepared for the competitive life in their not-so-distant future. Only by attending these renowned educational institutions in the cities, can children overcome the obstacles of today’s hectic and harsh life. While there is a great number of facilities in every big city, there are few of them in rural areas, therefore, living in a big city is of utmost priority for children.

Moreover, not to mention the importance of healthcare facilities would be an oversight. Big cities host the best healthcare facilities all around the world. It is crucial for children who are growing up, to be visited by an expert and skilled doctor. That most of the renowned doctors with remarkable prowess work in healthcare facilities in the cities is a known fact. Healthcare facilities in the cities utilize plenty of up to date equipment which are necessary for maintaining public health. On the other hand, rural areas suffer from a shortage of healthcare facilities. Consequently, people who live in the rural areas are obliged to commute to the cities in order to seek medical help. Thus, it is more convenient to live in a city with adequate healthcare facilities, rather than commuting to one every time a medical situation emerges.

All in all, living in big cities may have some disadvantages. However, there are some aspects to city-life which makes it a desirable choice for parents who are willing to bring up their children under the most favorable conditions. Thus, it is better for children to grow up in big cities.