it is better to have broad knowledge of many academic subjects than to have specialize in one specific subject

Without a shadow of doubt, people are the corner stone of a successful society; indeed, the more qualified individuals there are within a country, the more powerful a country is. In this regard, knowledge plays a vital role in preparing mankind for the future. With this in mind, some believe that it stands to reason that people should acquire a great variety of knowledge, while others think that it is better for human beings to be centralize in one subject. I, personally, subscribe to the latter attitude for several reasons, three of the most substantial of which are discussed below.

The most compelling reason is that as we all know, different individuals enjoy different interests. For example, a person may be inclined to politic, while another person would like art history. Therefore, when one learns many information has to with different subjects, he or she cannot find what it is their interest in the future; consequently they will rarely enjoy their work, which leads to dissatisfaction and decrease their self-confidence.

Another interpretation as to why I do not concur with the first perspective in the introductory paragraph lies in the fact that it is statistically proven that mind do not have the ability to handle multiple subjects in the same time in an excellent fashion; or, to put it in another way, in this situation, mind cannot appropriately focus; hence, if one knows two or three fields simultaneously, he or she will achieve shallow knowledge about the fields. As a point in view, consider an individual who is supposed to know about music, history, and chemistry at the same time. He or she will be neither a good musician, nor a proper historian or chemist in that they do not have enough time to pay attention to all the points.

The last but not the least reason is that acquiring knowledge about different issues at the same time may generates not only confusion, but also superficial learning since a person studying many things at same time is not be able to learn and gather enough information regarding each subjects. We should consider great scientist such as Edison, Einstein, and Madam Curie who have made striking changes in our world and have caused the world grows faster and faster. They localized their intellect on one subject and did their best, thus hugging success.

In summary, having considered all the aforementioned ingredients discussed above, I firmly endorse my point of view that the merits of centralization in one subject outweigh those of enjoying broad knowledge on the grounds that it gives people a chance not only to follow their interest, which triggers happiness and peace at mind, but also to have a better understanding about a subjects rather than a shallow one. Moreover, it paves the way for reaching the high level of profession in one individual theme major.