It is commonly believed that in life, success is not the most important thing; it is more important to remain happy and optimistic when we fail. Do you agree with that idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the idea that, beyond success, remaining happy and optimistic after success is yet important. For the reasons that believing that success is the most significant thing in life could bind your eyes in seeking for happiness, which is seemly the ultimate answer to the question that what people are living for. Meanwhile, remaining happy after failure can provide you with numerous of unexpected positive effects.

First, for people that concentrate solely on success, they'll find themselves losing everything along the way. In contrast, people spending efforts on maintaining happiness will generally tend to get a better ending. Most people with agree with the statement that success is quite an appealing target, while failure is not that acceptable. So most people will follow the trends to seek for success, while avoiding failure anyway. However, it is likely that people will forget about what they are originally pursuing, e.g., happiness, health, and meaning in life, since having success, or winning in competitions is addictive. Remember, what really matters is not the consequence, is the thing that motivates you from the very beginning. Pushing yourself like slopping down the hill, you will finally lose everything.

Second, hopefully, there is another kind of people, who kept what is really important in their mind. I'm not saying that they just dislike success, absolutely not. They might value success, as well as happiness, and failure, which can be unexpected. For this class of person, failure is more acceptable. They know that they've acquired happiness and other features like knowledge along the way of pursuing success, just like the former kind of person. I believe what can really impress the one, and the one can really remember after tens of years is the procedure, not the title you can get along with “success”. This way of developing ideas, which is much more difficult than being happy after success, is the thing that can really support me towards adversity.

Those are not only my personal answer to the question, but also wisdom of surviving, which can be applied everywhere to tackle hardship.