Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I support the idea that people who focus on multiple skills can be more successful for reasons that, it can enable them to work on a broader range of topics and to be involved in different communities.

First of all, as far as I could tell from my experience, having different skills enables me to work on entirely different tasks in scientific research, which brings many opportunities. In my process of learning years ago, I tried to familiarize myself with many fields, like Parallel Computing and Computer Graphics. Gradually, I grew a wide range of knowledge. Years later, when I entered my current lab, my professor asked me to choose a field to delve in. Because of my experience in many fields, I have a deeper understanding than other students, which aided me in selecting the field and provided me with a lot more opportunities. Familiar with corresponding knowledge, I can quickly get my hands wet.

Second, if you have multiple skills, you could be involved into different communities thus you can make friends of similar interest. As for me, I want to participate in the communities, which can be comprised of many kinds of people, with completely different educational backgrounds, ages, and even nationalities. Meeting and interacting with those people can broader my horizons of viewing the world. This is not feasible without corresponding knowledge of the field. You can have a good time with the communities only if you have a solid background and things to discuss. With knowledge in different areas, you may have many things to express. You can get into more communities if you want.

From the above, having more skills is quite beneficial in many aspects, that's why I can conclude that one should develop different kinds of skill, fulfilling one's experience, curiosity, and mind. Those are important for one's development in the future.