It has recently been announced that a large shopping center may be
built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use
specific reasons and details to support your answer.
The construction of a shopping mall in my hometown would have a profound effect on
the people who live here. If such a project were to be proposed, I would vehemently
oppose it. There are two reasons why I would do so, which I will explore in the
following essay.
To begin with, a shopping mall would cause many small local businesses to shut
down, which would have a negative effect on employment. It is true that a shopping
mall would employ a lot of people from the community, but the jobs lost at small local
retailers forced out of business would be greater in number. For example, when a
shopping mall opened in the small town where my parents live, it forced a local
hardware store out of business. Even though the hardware store found in the new mall
was three times as large as the family store, it only employed half as many people. Not
only that, but the small local store employed well-paid experts, while the shopping mall
mainly hires teenagers who earn minimum wage.
Secondly, shopping malls often result in urban sprawl, which is something that
would reduce the quality of life in my town. While local shops of the sort I talked about
above are usually located at the center of a city, shopping malls are usually found on
the outskirts of town. It is possible for customers to walk to local stores found
downtown, but it is necessary to drive to shopping malls. Not only that, but after a
shopping mall becomes successful, other business will open up nearby and patronizing
them will also require driving. I am of the opinion that the ability to walk to shops and
services is a part of a high quality of life. This means that a shopping mall will cause
life in my hometown to be much less enjoyable.
In conclusion, I would strongly oppose the construction of a shopping mall in my
hometown. This is because it would force small family-run businesses to shut down,
and because it would cause my life to be less pleasant.