It is important to keep your old friends than t is to make new friends. Do you agree, or disagree with this statament. Use specific reasons and examples to explain your idea.

Human is a kind of mammal that only socialize and make friends. A person has different friends from school to work in his/ her life. Some people believe that old friendships are better than new ones, although others think that making new friends has several significant benefits. Though both sides have pros and cons, I believe that making new friends are more important than keeping old ones for personal, social and historical dimensions.

Firstly, making new friends provides people some important personal benefits. A person's old friends generally have the same backgrounds with him / her such as educational and economic aspects, because they are usually from the same school or workplace. However, people make new friends as they are growing, generally from different places such as clubs, bars or coffees, parties or friends of friends. Thus, these new people have different backgrounds, different jobs, different political ideas, different economic status, and these can be helpful for your own benefits. For example, after I had graduated I met a friend from Latin dance club, she was a lawyer while I was a banker, and she helped me for a court of my family.

Secondly, making new friends has some social advantages on people. In my opinion learning a person's life is a very excited event that resembles exploring a new place, because every person is a world by him/herself. Moreover, the number of old people are usually less than those of new people, and if you are an open-minded person, you can probably make more new friends. These two social benefits are so important for a person life.

Lastly, the proponents of the idea that keeping old friends is more important than making new ones argues that it provides historical advantages for friendships. They state that knowing a person's past and having some memories shared make the friendship stronger. However, I am totally this agree with this idea, because in my opinion people can be blind for people that they have known for years in contrary with it is believed. On the other hand, if you make a new friend, you examine that person entirely, so this makes the friendship more powerful.

All in all, the advantages of making new friends outweigh the advantages of keeping old friendships. If you make new friends you will be a more social person while you gain some benefits from him/her. Making the friendship more powerful is another advantage of making new friends.