It is important to know about events happening around the world even if it is unlikely that they will affect your daily life

Needless to say that it is essential to know what’s happening globally. Human beings now live on this planet which seems to become smaller and smaller. Simultaneously, connections between countries become tighter and tighter. Personally, to be well-informed could profoundly benefit us both in knowledge and in life.

Firstly, being exposed to the world could effectively broad our horizons and minds. While we are watching international news, we are not only informed about a specific event, but also learning about a new culture, new language, different lifestyle and arts. This cognition of cultural diversity develops an open-minded character and become more appreciated to various cultures. It also helps us become more adaptable and flexible when we encounter with foreign cultures overseas.

Moreover, keeping on top of global new information could be quite helpful for decisions making in life. As we realized that modern people’s lives no longer limited in a small area forever. It is more and more popular traveling all over the world, if we can, and it is more and more common for students to receive different education in foreign countries. That requires us to pay more attention about what’s going on outside of the country. If not, we could make some wrong decisions. For example, some people made unnecessary, even dangerous trips without knowing the newest information about coronavirus which is still spreading around the world. Many students made trips to universities without having access to classrooms.

Some may say it is a waste of time watching news that seems to have no influence on our daily lives. It may be true if we focus on something like celebrities’ personal events. But we may also be entertained by those stories or gain a little wisdom from it. Some events seem to have no connection with our lives, like US presidential election. However, as I explained, it is still a good opportunity to learn something about a country. More knowledge is much better than ignorance. Philosophically, the world is universally connected as a whole.

To conclude, no matter for personal knowledge reason, or for important decisions making, it is very important and valuable for us to know more information and more events that happening outside.