It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours.

Over the past few years, the issue of whether or not having a career that needs three days a week with long hours of working is more pleasurable than a job with five days a week for shorter hours has received a great deal of attention from job-seekers and employers. Although some may say that five days working with short hours of working has a high yield of working compare to working for longer hours; I, as well as many others, believe that doing a job which allocates three days of a week brings several positive points for employees such as having more time for spending on pleasure activities, having time for spending with family and friends, and having adequate time for starting a second job.

First of all, an important reason why working three days a week is more enjoyable is that the labor force having more free time rather than others. Many psychologists assert that people need do pleasure activities besides their work for improving mental health. In this situation, when a person only works three days a week, he or she has adequate free time to allocate to enjoy activities such as doing sports, going camping, or playing a musical instrument. Furthermore, doing physical activity such as walking, riding a bicycle or going to the gym helps people not only improving mental condition but also improving the physical condition of their body.

Another reason for the importance of working three days a week is that people need to spend enough time with their family members and friends. One of the characteristics of humans is that they are sociable; thus, for improving this characteristic, they should allocate enough time for families and friends. Furthermore, parents had to assign time and energy for playing with children and helping them in their school rehearsals. In this situation, if parents only do their job for three days a week, they would have enough time for spending with their children. Also, when parents are at home for four days, they do not need to spend money on the nurse or kindergarten for taking care of children, so they can save money.

Finally, it is occasionally said that because of a hectic life, people need to select a second job for earning more money. In the modern era, because of the high cost of living, people had to work hard for handling life. So, when workers work three days a week, they have enough free time for starting a second job or going to learn new skills for starting their own job. Nevertheless, by working five days a week, the labor forces do not have sufficient time and energy for doing a second job.

In conclusion, considering the ideas presented in the paragraphs above, I personally believe that working three days a week is more enjoyable than working five days chiefly due to workers have time for spending with family and friends and starting a second job, and doing pleasure activities.