It is more important for governments to spend money on improving Internet access than on improving public transportation.

Infrastructure, containing internet facilities, public transportation, light systems, and so on, plays a crucial role in determining residents’ living conditions and it counts as the main part of the financial expenditure of a government. Therefore, how to invest in different parts becomes a heated discussion. Some people suggest that governments should spend more money on improving internet access than on constructing public transportation like the subway. From my perspective, I agree with this idea because I think the internet contributes much more than public transportation in the development of either a city or a country today and it is the kind of infrastructure that governments should invest in due to its irreplaceable place and considerable cost.

What should be prioritized is the undoubted role that the internet plays in the development of a society in the internet era. In detail, the internet helps education through the pandemic by making online education possible, building a virtual classroom on it; shopping mode has also been renewed by those online shopping platforms, like Amazon and JD, making it possible for people to buy almost everything they need just by clicking, bring so much convenience to residents. In contrast, those areas that don’t have basic internet facilities are likely to be locked outside of the modern world. People living there cannot get the latest news from phones. cannot participate in universities’ classes during the period of pandemic and they still need to walk to markets to buy necessaries even though they are not in good health. There are too many examples that can be listed here to show the unique role of the internet.

Some people may argue that a good system of public transportation also can bring convenience to people. I don’t disagree with that but it is needed to be stressed that a convenient system of public transportation system doesn’t play an irreplaceable role in the development of a society like the internet since people can still go anywhere they what to go without public transportation system by various ways like riding bicycles, driving cars. The lack of public transportation cannot quarantine either a person or a society, which can be done by the lack of internet. Therefore, governments should invest more in internet access than in public transportation.

The unique and irreplaceable role of the internet makes it the worthiest infrastructure so I hold the view that governments should spend more money on internet access than on public transportation