When classmates or colleagues communicate about a project in person instead of by e-mail, they will produce better work for the project.

Suffering from the COVID-19, many students and workers are forced to study and work remotely without communicating in person. After experiencing the on-cloud work and study, I totally agree with the statement that people are more likely to produce better work if they can discuss and exchange their opinions in person. I will explain the detailed reasons in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, problems can be more easily to be observed and tackled when people can communicate in person. To begin with, people are more likely to be concentrated on issues their teammates are stressing if they are in a same meeting room. On the contrary, your colleague may read your emails while drinking milk and playing with his dogs. They can't feel the urgency of your issues and are more likely to put it aside till you call him again. My experience is a great example of this point. I once leadered a group to design a smart garbage bin. At the beginning, we totally communicate with each other by sending email and I found that there was too much things needed to be checked more than twice, wasting considerable time. Everyone holds their own understanding about an issues so that it’s hard to make a consensus. Therefore, we made efforts in finding ways to communicate face to face. Eventually, we found that even an online video meeting worked better than emails since we could see others’ reaction to each proposal and adjusted the details accordingly.

Secondly, brilliant ideas are more easily to be generated when people are discussing face to face. It’s known that the words is not the only way where humans express themselves. More than half of the information is expressed by facial expressions and body languages which can’t be contained in emails. Moreover, designers are usually willing to draw some drafts and make some prototype when discussing, which can’t be shown well in an email. The project mentioned in the last paragraph was still a good example. We needed to design the appearance of the garbage bin to improve its user-experience and my teammates and I who majored in science had no idea about how the different detailed designs affected the users’ feeling even if the student majored in industry design used over thousands of words to explain it. However, as soon as we saw and touched the prototype in the real world, we knew the difference caused by detailed design and came up with the idea that using the elliptic paraboloid as its basic structure.

It is admitted that emails leave more space for people to consider and organize their words. However, those advantages of face-to-face communication mentioned above overwhelm the elaborately organized words.

To conclude, I believe that communicating in person can produce a better work.