It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that people who have the capability of maintaining their relationship with their old friends living happier and with higher life quality. Contrary to this popular belief, there are still those who argue that in today's word just people who could make new friendships with other people especially powerful ones, would be able to have good life. However, I, to a great extent, agree with this idea that it is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends.

First and foremost, it is just our old friends that will stand in our side at the time of problems. For example, three years ago, I faced with serious business failure. I must sell my house, car and other my possess things. Although, I have several co-workers who I was really counting on them did not assist me during that time. Nonetheless, some of my high school friends lended me some money which I could to rent a house and started a new job.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that old friends are solid people that we can get advice from them. When we know someones merely for few times, it does not make sense to share our personal concerns or important information with them. For example, whenever, I have a conflict with my family, I mainly speak with my close friends. They give me the best ways to deal with the problem. On the other hand, getting advice from a dishonest person could make the problem bigger.

Finally, yet importantly, people who make new friends a lot, not only it does not make them happy ones, but also they are feeling are always alone. These people make friendships with others just for a short period of time, in order to obtain some benefits from this relationship. Nevertheless, human without a deep affection exchange which only creates by long-term communication would not be experienced belonging.

On the basis of reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that keeping older friendships are more important than making a lot of new friends. Because the senses of belonging and confidence obtain in the longtime relationship and we mainly can count on our old friends during problems.