It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

There has been a heated debate about whether it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. Some people might emphasize the importance of details and information for students. Personally, I believe that understanding the ideas and concepts is more important than learning merely a fact for several reasons addressed below.

To begin with, ultimate goal of education is making students into critical thoughts. As centuries past, human population could develop because of the critical thinkers. It was the scholars who thought outside the box that enabled to make major breakthroughs in the science and technology. It is true that numbers and graphs are fluctuating in modern society, but human have developed a great way to store the 'facts'. For instance, texts could be stored in newspapers or documents, numbers and statistics could be stored in excel files. These supplements human invented reduce the burden of memorizing and learning of facts, but relatively increases on how people should utilize these knowledge. In other worlds, importance of ideas and concepts is increasing in recent world.

In addition, concepts and ideas are more important to students than facts because they are the sources of inspiration. Students are young and creative because their brain network system has not fully solidified.To illustrate, neurons are stimulated when students learn new concepts and ideas. The nerve tangles and merges different kinds of pathways and as a result creative thoughts are produced. However, the neuron in youngster's brain solidifies when they experience a lot and when their neuronal stem cells stop reproducing. Since student have the biggest capability of creative thinking in their lifetime, they should not be forced to memorize and learn about facts, but to learn about ideas freely.

Last but not least,ideas and concepts are more important because they have more powerful executive force than mere facts. Human are emotional beings, and human population seldom change their behavior until they believe they should. When students learn an idea or when a concept touches deeply in their heart, they can act out and change the world. For example, students learn statistics about carbon dioxide emission and global warming in their ecology class. However, not all students work for environmental issues. The students that execute and participate on campaigns have their own ideas and concepts about how to save the world.

In conclusion, I agree that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for the to learn facts. Students are young, and they need to learn critical thinking. Also, they are in the lifetime of the peak creativeness. Lastly, only the ideas can change the behavior of students.