Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Human activity is making the earth a worse place to live Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

The issue here is whether human activity is making the earth a worse place to live. In my opinion, human activity is totally ruining the lives on Earth especially in an environmental point of view. My view can be greatly substantiated by the reasons addressed below.

To begin with, human activity pollutes the earth. For centuries, human tried to take profit out of the nature, by extracting natural gases, petroleum, and mining. By utilizing these natural resources sources the development of technology, human culture, and industries were surely propelled but these comforts of civilization had to be compensated by pollution. For example, few years ago, there was a heated debate about the Fukusima nuclear disaster in Japan. After the Fukusima nuclear disaster, radioactive materials spreaded out throught the pacific ocean, and gave bad influence to the marine ecology. Many marine animals and plants were polluted, thus mutant species with aberrant features.

Second of all, human activity destroys the natural habitats for living things on earth. In many countries, woods and mountains are destroyed in order to make a huge plantation or yards to grow livestocks. In consequence, wild animals' habitat are becomeing extinct and even if they survive, the population is altered by exotic species that human brought in. For instance, avocado became a symbol of healthy food because many hollywood stars enjoyed it. Nowadyas, consumer demand for avocado has been increased and in order to meet the demand, woods and mountains of North America are turned into avocado plantations. According to an environmental campaign group, Greenpeace, numbers of wild animals such as tigers and monkeys are becoming extinct and they need proper protection.

Third, human activity facillitates natural disasters on earth. Civilization has been a hinderance for the environmental cycle. In the law of physics, every components of environment such as soil, water, wind, air have to circulate and change its form. However, cities and artificial structures such as aspart roads, dams, bridges, tunnels hinder the circulation of environement. For instance, human have built dams in order to control the water circulation and create electricity from the dropping power of the water. Currently on worldwide, despite the increased numbers of dam, flood is becoming aggravated and many countries are not capable of controlling the water. Since our nature is so complex and sophisticated, natural impact of artificial structures can not be precisely anticipated nor calculated by the thoughts of human. The greed of human population to control and seize over nature actually facilitates the natural disasters on earth.

In conclusion, I personally believe human activity is making the earth a worse place to live. The more human society is globalized, convenient, and prospered, the earth is being destroyed. The negative environmental impacts of human civilization can not be dismissed. Fundamental change of modern civilization is in desperate need.