It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

In recent years, education plays an important role in everyone's life. Therefore the education system has changed to be more practical for students' future careers. Despite that, each system chooses its special way and each of them focuses on a different aspect of learning. For instance, some systems believe that it is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts rather than learn facts. In my opinion, I do believe learning ideas and concepts help the educational systems to raise students with more creativity and innovation. I will support my idea in the following statements:

First of all, when someone learns the concept of something it is no more difficult for him/her to learn the facts and rules. For instance, I' am a physics student, in my major, If I know the rules and the formulas and also memorizing all the equations, as long as not being involved with the idea and concept of the problems, don't make me a good scientist or even a good physicist. I'll become just like a machine or a computer.

Secondly, this question reminds me of one of Feynman's lectures, which he explained when he went to one of the brazil's universities as a guest professor to teach students for one semester, he became shocked. He believed that brazil's educational system just fosters some machines instead of students. They memorize all the formulas and educations but they didn't know the concept so when he changed the problems a little bit they confused and couldn't solve the problems. So in that system memorizing was more valuable than understanding and being innovative.

Besides all of these, if we want to prompt in science and technology we need students who know the concepts. Even though I believe besides ideas and concepts, the procedure that a scientist has gone to achieve something is also important.

In conclusion, I believe we have a duty to foster the next generation more innovative and creature. To achieve this, constructing educational systems that focus on teaching students ideas and concepts should be ascertained.