It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

It is incumbent on students to understand ideas and concepts rather than mugging up the facts. Students now a days are concerned about their marks and gpa which is vital for securing place in universities or high school. In order to get high gpa they focus only on important topics and try to mug up as much as possible without understanding the inner depth of the subject. This approach may not serve them in the long run as they tend to forget all the facts shortly after the exam.

Students consider understanding of ideas and concepts as wastage of time. They have to complete the entire syllabus in the short span of time. So they try to remember imporant facts and events. Consider history subject, lot of student mug up the imporatnt dates and events in order to get the good marks. They percieve history as a collection of important dates and events rather than the story in the chrological order. This approach of mugging up dates and important events will surely get them good marks but they will not get the big picture. Facts and figures may not be retained in the memory for the long period of time.

Most of the Students try to solve mathematics and science quandry or a problem without understanding the concepts and ideas that is required to solve the problem. They focus on the end result of any theorem or thesis rather than how the theorem is derived. By focusing only on the end result of the theorem student can easily solve the formula oriented questions but they face difficulty while solving the difficult problem which requires the deep knowledge of the subjects.

Students can easily forget the important facts, dates or the result of any theorem and they may not apply these facts in the real world situations. For instance consider a computer science student who bagged a great job solely on the basis of his high gpa which is achieved by mugging up the codes and algorithms. He or she will not be able to apply his factual knowledge in the job environment and eventually faces lot of problem in conducting his or her quotidian tasks.

In conclusion, facts and important events will not help much in the real world, these are limited only to universities or colleges. In order to get success in the real world student has to understand the ideas and concepts which can be remembered for whole life and can be applied to solve the real world problems.