People who pursue their own intellectual interest for purely personal reasons are more likely to benefit the rest of the world than who try to act for public good.

All the people on this planet has their own intellectual interest or goals which they want to pursue. their goals or interest only if it is benign and prospective can benefit large section of society.

Some People align their personal goal or interest like teaching, research with the public good. By achieving their personal goals they are doing good for society. Scientist and researchers tries to resolve their curiosity or quandary related to their research field. If successful in doing so it benefits large section of society. For instance famous scientist Edison was curious about how electric bulb work. By solving this puzzle, he invented electric bulb which was beneficial for whole society.

However, People can also have goals that are malicious or detrimental to a society. These people serve no good to society. For example Most terrorists has the goal to bomb the public place or any government building or hijacking the plane and many such goals that are detrimental to society. By achieving this goal they are serving no good to society. These kind of goals cost a society a lot.

There are some people who try to act for public good for their own benefit. These people does not contribute towards development of the society. Consider politicians, they tend to launch series of rhetoric during their election campaign and entice public to vote for them. But soon after winning the election they renege on their promise which they have committed to public . They gain huge publicity by showing off or pretending good works like opening fake NGOs or hospitals for the sole aim of converting their black money into white.

In conclusion, People can benefit a society only if they have benign, creative and productive personal goals or interest. People who pretends to serve good are not beneficial for society.