The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

For many decades leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Winston Churchill, Steve Jobs has tranformed the society culturally, politically and technologically. They brought in positive changes in the society which no on had thought before or seems impossible for a common people.All great and innovative leaders have one traits in common i.e. not being obdurate and they always try to get feedback from the people whom they lead and may change their belief according to the wishes of their followers.

Great leaders has the ability to sense the need of common people and they mold themselves according to the wishes of their followers. For example, When Gandhi returned from South Africa he was wearing british cloths but he tranformed in to a monk by wearing cotton cloths when he got feedback that he has to be among common people in order to understand them.

The leaders who does not listen to feedback of their followers and is dogmatic or obdurate, their society or country will always be in turmoil. Tehy may get successs initially but in the long run they fail their society or country. Consider for example HItler, He was the epitome of Obduracy. He was not listening to any of his general's advice during world war 2 and has taken full charges on his own. He got success initially by gaining ascendency over many countries for eg. France, and Austria. But he lost to combined power of Russia and USA without the General's help.

However, It is not incumbent on leaders to always mold to their follower's feedback. It might be possible that their followers are wrong. if the leader is confident that his decision helps the society and country, he should stick to his cause even though their followers may think otherwise. Consider for example Winston Churchill did not agreed to terms and condition of Hitler for war peace and many general in Britain were not happy with Churchill's obduracy. He followed his instincts and the results were in his favour.