The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

"Previous experience has shown that our stores are most profitable in areas where residents are highly concerned with leading healthy lives. We should therefore build our next new store in Plainsville, which has many such residents. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club, which nearly closed five years ago due to lack of business, has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. We can even anticipate a new generation of customers: Plainsville's schoolchildren are required to participate in a 'fitness for life' program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age."

The vice president of Nature's way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related heath-products wants to expand his chain of business in plaisville based on his previous experience. He assumes people in plainsville leads a healthy lives based on number of factors like proliferated sales of running shoes and excercise clothing, increased in the number of local health club members, and participation of schoolchildren in heath program. However his assumption is flawed.

First of all, the vice president does not specify the relationship between increase in the sales of running shoes or exercise clothing and increase in the consumption of healthy-products. It may happen that running shoes and exercise clothing are common fashion trends. people may only concentrated only on exercise not on the exercise . They may not give importance to health and assumes that exercise is the only factor for leading healthy lives. So increase in running shoes and exercise clothing do not clearly indicate the people are concerned with healthy lives.

Second, The vice president has assumed that increased in the number of local health club members can lead to increase in consumption of health-products. There may be several cause for increase in the number of local health club members. it can be possible that natives in Plainsville want to increase their social interactivity, get to know each other. They can curb their loneliness by interacting with lot of people. Merely Increase in the number of local health members does not mean that natives of Plainsville are leading health lives.

Third, The vice president has not clearly specified that how increased participation of schoolchildren in heath fitness program results in proliferated consumption of health-related products. By just participating in health fitness program school child does not start consuming health-related product. There may be different reason for the participation of children in health fitness program. It may be possible that school administration forces them to participate in such programs for the sake of publicity to attract more children.

In conclusion, The vice president has to ferret out more convincing logic for opening his chain of business in Plainsville. He should come up with more data on Plainsville natives and should clearly specify how the above factors like augmentation of running shoes or exercise clothing sales, proliferation of local health club members and participation of children in fitness program are responsible for creating health awareness.