The following appeared in a memorandum written by the vice president of Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products.

Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument is based on a memo written by the vice president of a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products named Nature's Way. The vice president of Nature's Way recommends that the company should build a new store in Plainsville because this place has residents who are highly concerned with leading healthy lifestyles. He has supported his argument by citing information about sale of sports products, the situation of local health club and a program called "fitness for life" in schools. However, none of this evidence lends credible support to the recommendation.

In the first place, in Plainsville the merchant’s report showed that the sale of running shoes and exercise clothing are always high. The aerobics classes and local health clubs has more members than ever. The vice president concluded from these two arguments that the people are so health conscious and they will buy health products. But it is not fully correct because there is not clear data regarding merchant's report as well as it may be plausible that the people are engaging in clubs and aerobics classes because of fashion or to refreshing their mood. So the president has to analyse the interest of people toward health products in spite of to relay on other reports to open Nature's Way chains.

Secondly, the local health club has more than ever also conclude that the health club improved their services than before. Health clubs get more members if they provide good services and regular maintenance of the premises. In any society the local clubs and aerobic classes run wealthy when they provide up to mark services so the conclusion made in argument is not strengthen the argument.

Thirdly, in schools the students are required to take part in program of "Fitness for Life". It is not necessary that to do exercise or aerobics under the program. The students may play basketball, baseball or other outdoor game to get fit and healthy. Hence, the schoolchildren will be regular customer of the Nature's Way is not necessary. To eat health food and health-related products by the children is more depend on the parents not on the students. Even has seen that so many children are not interested in the healthy vegetables or other nutrition.

Hence, the author's recommendation is based entirely on some assumptions and the author has failed to support his assumptions with concrete evidence. The author should have analyzed the market and understood the attitude of residents in Plainsville. He should have talked to people who are the health club's members, exercise regularly, buy exercise clothes etc. In addition, other information, such as the detailed situation of club, taste of children and average income of people in Plainsville would have helped to take a decision.