Claim: We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from those whose views contradict our own.

Reason: Disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that people learn more from a person who has similar thoughts in comparison from a person has opposite or contradictory thoughts. The reasoning behind its claim is disagreement can cause stress and inhibit learning process. I fundamentally disagree with this proposition and its clue. In what follows, I will list my potent reasons to support my disagreement.

First of all, the disagreement doesn’t mean that other person will not listen whereas disagreement means that he or she has counter points in your logic. When someone find flaws in our logic then we surely don’t like but it leads to find something better. Everyone wants to be correct but if we accept the idea without thinking then our world stuck at a point. A lucid example which adherents my state is the contradiction occurred over the geocentrism and heliocentrism in the past. If Nicolaus Copernicus did not work against the believes of people than we never understood earth and other planets revolve around sun. People were strongly agreed with geocentricism which means earth is center of the solar system, but he proves the concept of heliocentrism which means the sun is center of universe.

Besides, the disagreement leads to invention and creation. As we all are experiencing new technologies and these technologies are result of disagreement of old technology. In past years we use telephone which has limitations and now we have mobiles, tabs and many more. There are scientists who want something easier device then presently we use, and they are working on it. So, disagreement challenge to monotonous thinking pattern and find innovative idea.

Finally, the author give reason that contradictory thoughts build stress and slower down the learning. Actually, it is true because human being wants to be live within his realm where he or she is safe from others disagreement but when someone break this wall and move ahead to understand other perspective then growth happened. To gain knowledge and growth in an area one should understand the contradictory thoughts of others is necessary. People must learn how to handle the stress because if we convert it into eustress then it will lead us towards innovation. As the proverb said, “strike on a hot iron" it means when iron is red hot then we can change the shape with strike. Similar, disagreement leads to change in routine and stereotype thinking pattern and results something unpredictable.

To wrap up, according to the aforementioned reasons, people learn more from the various views instead of repeating one. As the contradiction presents the new idea with more efficiency raised. So, the contradictory thoughts move towards innovative learning rather than inhibits the learning.