It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

t is not uncommon to find people get confused between facts and concepts. These two words have totally different meanings. I strongly agree with the statement that for the students, learning ideas or concepts are more important than simply learning facts. That's because concept is the root of knowledge, it helps students to understand a topic better and also because it helps to retain the basic knowledge.

To begin with, concept or idea is the root of any knowledge. Knowing a concept, students can easily understand any topic by depth. As for a fact, it is something that has to be mugged up and memorized. Students can easily forget a topic just by learning the facts but learning concepts or ideas can make students retain a topic. For example, learning the fact is like on which date Vasco da Gamma discovered India, so we have to learn the date by heart and there is a chance that we can easily forget it. But by learning the concept for instance, why and how did Vasco da Gamma discover India, this can make learning more interesting and they can grasp knowledge in much better ways. This example illustrates the importance of learning concepts over the facts.

Secondly, concepts can make students retain knowledge better. As with fact, there is a chance that we can forget it easily as it has to be remembered. But with concept, students can figure out an answer just by revising their main ideas. Learning with a concept can retain for much longer time as compared to just learning facts. For example, when we do mathematics, we try to do it by concept or methods rather than studying the facts. Hence, we could solve any question with the help of the main idea. And also, concepts can be especially helpful during examination when a student tends to forget facts due to nervousness.

In conclusion, I agree that it is much helpful to acquire the concept or basic idea of knowledge than just simply mugging up the facts because the concepts can make student understand better, and because it can be retained for longer duration.