It is more important for universities to invest in infrastructure and physical plant than to invest in keeping the faculty satisfied

I believe that it is far more important to invest in infrastructure and physical plant. While there are likely people who will instantly oppose my opinion and claim that the satisfaction of the faculty ultimately trumps whatever benefit infrastructure investment might have, I would like to claim that infrastructure investment is, indeed, a strategic method to keep the faculty satisfied.

Why do people choose to dedicate themselves to academia and spend a large portion (and perhaps all) of their lives on campus? Because they like to broaden the horizons of whatever field they have devoted themselves so passionately to during their years as students. The faculty's main goal is to help people learn what they have learned the hard way and to have a real-world impact on situations surrounding them by conducting and/or supervising ground-breaking research in their successive fields of interest. Thus, influence is perhaps the common denominator that brings the whole faculty together.

But how does infrastructure relate to what is the seemingly ultimate aim of any faculty, i.e. influence, and what does it have to do with faculty satisfaction? Well, that is a complicated question. In tackling this question, I would like to address the physical plant of any facility and how it affects the residents -- or users -- of that facility. As a person with future plans of devoting herself to academia and who is extremely finicky in design, I personally cannot fathom the thought of spending my entire life working in a place that does not satisfy my needs of appropriate aesthetics, let alone basic needs that arise when little is spent on infrastructure and design. Insufficient attention to detail in infrastructure can have possibly unforgivable consequences, and those consequences are likely to be instantly recognized and addressed by the faculty.

One such consequence is the possibility of the university facilities falling apart due to natural disasters. The unquestioned fact that no one wants to feel unsafe at their workplace is evident, and I am quite sure that no faculty member would agree to work in a place that could risk their lives. Thus, infrastructure is a key factor in keeping the faculty around and satisfied. Another consequence, although less evident, is that appropriate design and infrastructure have been proven by numerous studies to have a tangible impact on the way the members of the faculty teach and the way the students learn. What we see and how we feel at any certain time and in any certain place directly affects how we communicate our ideas and how we absorb new information. Feeling safe and aesthetically pleased in any place brings more attention to our surroundings and enables us to work more efficiently. Although this might not seem like a direct factor in the satisfaction of the faculty, it immensely affects the way the faculty members perceive their workplaces and their satisfaction.

In conclusion, I believe that attention to and investing in infrastructure, design, and physical plant automatically, though indirectly, guarantees faculty satisfaction by bringing a feeling of safety and aesthetic pleasure to their workplace and also by positively influencing the way their students learn as proven by the studies.