TPO 43 Independent Writing Task Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion which of the following is the best thing to do Interrupt and correct the mistake right away Wa

We live in a society where it is a must to behave appropriately with others. For educational and professional reasons, people attend classes and formal seminars. It is crucial to behave in a good manner at those events. In this regard, some people think since teachers and leaders are highly educated professionals and people are attending their classes would like to remain silent. While others hold a different opinion that as a human, anyone can make a mistake and it must need to be corrected at the same time. From my perspective, I would like to wait till the right moment and then speak to them regarding their mistakes. I take the position account for the following reasons.

The first thing that makes me hold the belief that attendees do not know the intention of the speaker. In some scenarios, the speaker might say something intentionally. So, without having a whole idea about the background of the matter while discussing some topics, it would not be a wise idea to speak an opinion loudly in front of the whole class. For instance, when I was a sophomore at university, my biology professor had a habit of intentionally introducing some topics incorrectly, and a reason behind it was that he wanted to check how many students were listening to his class. Hence, it was his trick that he used to check the student’s performance in the class.

Another noteworthy point is that it is not judicious to hamper the flow of the meeting. Sometimes, the mistakes that happened in the class are not directly related to the main topic. Therefore, it is better to ignore those mistakes at that moment and wait till the discussion will get over. My own experience is a compelling example of this. Last week in a Biology lecture, one of the students in my class pointed out a mistake and hindered the flow while the professor was discussing an important topic of human anatomy. Consequently, the speaker failed to complete the topic because all his time was taken in trying to convince the student that his mistake was irrelevant to the topic. Therefore, others had to suffer because of one’s mistake.

Lastly, all the people who attend the lecture need to have dignity and respect towards the speaker. If people think that the speaker makes a mistake then should wait until the lecture gets over, and later, can discuss the mistake with the speaker. Hence, this way professor would not get embarrassed in front of the class. Also, if the mistake is found then the speaker can notify others in the next class or through email.

All in all, contemplating all remarks, I strongly believe that it is wise to keep patience and discuss with the speaker later about the probable mistake. This is because it may disturb the whole class and sometimes students should not raise any doubt without knowing the whole scenario.