It is more important for universities to invest in infrastructure and physical plant than to invest in keeping the faculty satisfied.

In this increasingly competitive era, a better high education enables a country to become stronger in the aspect of economics, technology, culture, and so on. Therefore, the development of university is certainly an indisputable necessity for a country. Among the methods to improve the power of universities, investing in infrastructure and physical plant is truly more imperative than investing in satisfying the faculty.

To begin with, better environment is indeed a suitable way to improve students’ learning motives and ability. Moreover, new infrastructures usually accompany novel technology and more suitable infrastructure design, which enhance the convenience and effectiveness in students’ learning. For instance, a new experimental building was built and start to be used in my second year of graduate life. And the new instruments and infrastructure indeed provide us with convenience and energetic atmosphere, which we cannot experience in old buildings.

In addition, a new physical plant is able to make a campus looks advanced and developed, indicating that universities could appeal more attention from the elites and the world. It goes without saying that attracting the talent and investment form outside is a vital strategy for universities to develop well. For example, every time I visited other famous campus all around the world, I was always appeal to those new infrastructures no matter is the building exterior or the indoor design. To me, it is evidently a strong reason to appeal others and a symbolic point of the power of a university.

To summarize, the investment in new infrastructure and physical plants is undeniably an effective approach to make a great progress in the development of universities.