Describe an annual day in your country when you give people special gifts.

In my hometown, Taiwan, we not only have the New year but also celebrate the Chinese New Year based on the lunar calendar. There are plenty of events during the period of Chinese New Year, which lasts about one week; however, the tradition of giving “Red Envelopes” as a special gift is the activity that I look forward to the most every year.

We have used the Gregorian calendar in our daily life after the western culture had been widely transported to East Asia during 19th century; however, we still celebrate festivals based on the lunar calendar, as it represents a whole new start for us. There is a wide variety of activities to celebrate during Chinese New Year such as pasting the spring couplets and having a family reunion. An interesting thing is that “Red” symbolizes “Wealth” in Chinese New Year, so we can observe that stores on the street are usually decorated in red. Moreover, an activity related to gift-giving that is also regarding the color red, is giving red envelopes.

Instead of physical objects that people consider to be normal gifts, like cakes and clothing, we put cash in this red envelope. The money in this envelope reflects the meaning of its red appearance, which is wealth. The elder will give the red envelope to the younger generations in hope that they will become rich in the future. Simultaneously, the younger generations will sometimes send the red envelope to the elder, exhibiting their appreciation for the elder. This significant custom shows our care to our family; moreover, we usually use the cash in the red envelope to buy new things, which symbolizes a new beginning in the Chinese New Year.

To me, giving red envelopes is an important activity in the Chinese New Year. It brought me a great pleasure in my childhood, and now I am able to send my parents red envelopes since I have a job. Without a doubt, gifting red envelopes is vital custom in my life encapsulates my happiness in childhood and my gratitude to my parents.