Your friend has decided to switch careers, but isn’t sure which to choose. What advice would you give them? Provide reasons and examples to support your response.

It is hard to overstate the importance of choosing a job in everyone’s career. Some might select a job for its salary, and some might consider the future development of the company. If I had to give advice to my friend, I would urge him to find a promising job in which he could learn more. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explain in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, salary is not the most crucial consideration in job choosing at our age; instead, I would suggest that the future development of industries is much more pivotal. Since recent graduates like my friend are young enough to challenge the world, there is certainly time for us to discover a job that has good development prospects for the future. Some of my friends devoted themselves to machine learning when few, if any, knew about that. However, we can see that nowadays machine learning is one of the most popular technique in the world, indicating that being farsighted like my friends is indeed a proven way to success.

In addition, there is no doubt that building up knowledge and honing essential job-related skills are the necessary methods to gain more ability and chance in future careers. To predict future trends that might happen in this world is sometimes tremendously difficult; however, if we still are fully-prepared early on, we can seize every chance that may otherwise fly by without us noticing. A postdoc in my material science laboratory had spent a lot of time on personal development but had not found a suitable job until he was hired by a famous high-tech company asking for a competent scientist. This goes without saying that there are more and better chances for people who are completely ready like former postdoc in my laboratory.

To summarize, choosing a job with more future possibilities or finding a job where you can become more versatile with you own skills and even achieve a new ability, are my recommendations for my friends to choose a new job. These tips are truly imperative for us to reach an even higher summit in our career.