it is not as easy as it was in the past to be professional in all areas

Throughout history people have been skilled in different fields and there has not been anyone who was specialized just in one area of knowledge. Nowadays, it is not as easy as it was in the past to be professional in all areas. The vast majority of people are of the opinion that one should have broad knowledge of many academic subjects. I, contrary to the popular belief, contend that people should specialize in one specific area. In the following paragraphs, I will delve into the most conspicuous reasons and examples.

One of the reasons coming to mind at first is that nowadays every area of knowledge is of a great depth. In other words, each subject which one choses to specialize in, has a great deal of information to be learned and a great quantity of knowledge to be gained. As a result, it is not possible to have knowledge of many academic subjects. One can become professional in just one subject and try to have a shallow understanding in other fields of knowledge as well. As an instance, hardly can somebody who is specialized in biology learn a kind of physics which is practical and of help in his life. Moreover, there are many new discoveries in the field of biology that he has to spend many years of his life to become specialized in the biology. This is true about all other fields of knowledge.

Another equally noteworthy reason supporting my opinion is that people who are specialized in a subject usually have better job opportunities. Since nowadays there are many ways of learning such as internet, documentaries and books, a great number of people have information about different subjects to some degree. As a result what is of the most importance for companies which going to employ new people is the degree of being professional in the specific subject which the company needs. Statistics conducted in my area recently reveals that more than 80 percent of companies do not look for somebody who is familiar with their filed of work but look for somebody who is specialized in their field of work.

The last but not the least point is that a person who has deep understanding in a field of knowledge and is professional in that specific field has more self-confidence that somebody who knowledge of many subjects. The reason is that the professional person can answer any question he is asked about that specific subject and solve any problem he faces. On the contrary, the other person cannot answer all the questions in the fields he has studied because of lack of knowledge. Although he has some degree of knowledge in many subjects but he lacks sufficient knowledge in every subject to solve all problems and answer all questions. As a psychological research discloses, these kind of people do not have enough self-confidence which may lead to depression.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned reasons and examples lead us to the conclusion that it is a better idea to specialize in one specific subject rather than many academic subjects. However, that was a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are a myriad of other reasons and examples which are not mentioned here due to the dearth of time. Finally, it is suggested that a survey be conducted in order to find out which one is more beneficial for the person and the society.