It is sometimes said that borrowing money from a friend can harm or damage the friendship. Do you agree? Why or why not? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

People have different opinions on what behaviors can be damaging for a friendship. Some may think that demanding money from friends has a negative impact on the relationship, while others are of different opinions about damaging factors for friendship. I don’t regard borrowing money harmful for friendship as there are other important factors that play a more important role in this regard.

Borrowing money for a friend is just a form of getting help which is not a negative factor for friendship in itself. A good friendship takes variety of factors including honesty, kindness, common interests, and giving help which can be seen in various situations. We don’t choose friends only for having funs and for going outside and having entertainment. We are not strong enough to live without getting help from other people around us including our friends. Sometimes we need an advice from our fiends, sometimes we need to use the experience of our friends about a matter, and sometimes we may borrow money because we are in a bad financial situation. Borrowing money from a friend means that we promise to pay it back to our friend in a time period that we promise and it is definitely not an uncommon thing among friends who trust each other. We give money to our friends in times when they are needy and they give us money or other kinds of helps when we need them. Therefore, there is no point in regarding borrowing money as damage to our friendship as long as we are faithful to our promises.

The harmful factors that contribute the deterioration of a friendship are very different form borrowing money. What is damaging for a friendship include lying, disloyalty, untruthfulness, insolence, accusing etc. These are very different from getting help from a friend in the form of borrowing money. What may cause some people to think that borrowing money is damaging is the lack of truth between friends that may come from failing to do promises of paying back the money borrowed. Of course it would make harm to the friendship if we don’t pay back the money or we postpone it to another time for several times. Therefore, in this case, it is the failing of friendship obligations that makes harm to friendship, not just the act of borrowing money. I know several friends of mine and other people around me who borrow money from each other in times of need without any problem in their friendship. Hence, it cannot be something harmful for friendship.

Generally speaking, borrowing money from friends is not something negative for friendship in itself, as true friends are found in times of need and help. We need our friends and they need us. Borrowing money from friends is just a form of getting help and as long as we pay it back and don’t compromise or trusts, there would be no problem with that.