Some people believe that a college or university education should be

available to all students. Others believe that higher education should be

available only to good students. Discuss these views. Which view do you

agree with? Explain why.

Universities are playing critical roles in the improvement of society and people’s life and the core element of their function depends on the quality of the students. Some are of the view that higher education should be dedicated to good student and others say that all students should have the opportunity to attend university education. After weighting the evidences I Strongly agree with the view that only good Students should have the right to enter colleges and based on the following reasons I try to demonstrate my opinion.

The budgets that the universities have are not limitless. Universities both private and public ones have a certain amount of financial resources that should be directed to the best possible goals. It is absolutely true that designating budget for a talented or a hard worker student bring much better results that giving budget to the weak student and it’s not possible for them to accept all students applying to the universities. A hard worker student creates high quality knowledge and finally brings money to the university. On the other hand, accepting weak or uninterested students to universities bring nothing more that waste of time and resources for the universities and the governments. Hence, universities should better to support those who are passionate about their studies so as to spend their moneys in the most efficient ways.

Furthermore, it’s the hard working and talented students who bring knowledge and respect for the universities. The most important goal of a university is creating quality works for the society and getting prestige and respect by the world. Where could these items come from? Aside from having good professors and financial resources, the most important resources for making knowledge and prestige are the outstanding and elite student of universities. They absolutely should be taken into priority for entering universities. Further, if the weak students enter the universities the good student’s right would be ignored as they have taken a long journey to enter universities in opposite to those weak students. As results, we conclude that it’s again the high quality students that should be absorbed to universities.

However, some people may say there may be some reasons that universities accept all types of students as it increases the quantity of the educated people in society and brings more knowledge for scientific world as well. But the reality is that society and scientific world needs quality works and qualified research projects which would be created by only those who are passionate enough about science.

In general, we can conclude that although everyone should have the right to enter universities, but this does not mean that universities can accept all good and weak students to their programs as they should designate their resources to the best students so as to bring quality knowledge, prestige, and respect for them.