The key to the success is effort or luck?

There has been a long debate about effort and luck which is the key to success, some people consider effort is an indispensable part of the way to success. Others believe that even with a lot of effort, it may not be successful without good luck. But from my perspective, no matter how good luck is, it's just an excuse for someone who is not doing his best effort. Even if something you want to succeed, you can't bear the luck and when you again rely on luck to challenge something, you will not be as lucky as last time and the result is defeat. Therefore, I think the effort is the base of everything we want to do, luck is just by-product of effort.

When I was in high school as a freshman, my math grade is very bad which made me feel sad a lot. I tried many ways to improve math grad, but everything ended in failure. I didn't want to give up maths because of my grade, so I asked my teacher for help. She thought the reason why math grades so bad is lacking in mathematical thinking and methods and advised me to perfect the mathematical foundation. Following the teacher's suggestion, it took me the whole semester to improve my basics of mathematical, I constantly read the teaching book and persisted in completing daily learning plans. Surprisingly, I got A in the final exam. I don't know if the goddess of fortune chooses me, during the exam, I encountered many original questions on the textbook. Ever since then, I have a great interest in math, and it brings me pleasure a lot.

In a word, effort and luck both are the importance of success, yet we can not become the person who only depends on luck. We need to focus on personal effort, only from making our best effort the goddess of fortune would choose us and completing our target.