Leaders like John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King have made important contributions to the people of the United States. Name another world leader you think is important. Give specific reasons for your choice.

Mahatma Gandhi, Father of india, was born on October, 2, 1969. He was a great national freedom fighter. His full name was Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi. The word “Mahatma” in Sanskrit means a person having great influence over community. Before Gandhiji came to India, the condition of india was not good. British ruled India for approximatley 150 yrs and after that india became independent on August,15, 1947. Gandhiji had a huge impact on the community world wide. He finished his study of LLB abroad and after returning home he saw poverty and the deteriorating condition of common people.

Many people like Shubhaschanra Bose, Bhagat Singh, Chandrashekhar Azad moreover Swami Vivekanand also inspired people about freedom but gandhi had a marvelous success. “simple living, high thinking” was the motto of his life. He choose the path of ‘Ahinsa’- non-violence. people called him ‘Bapu’. Salt movement and Swadeshi (preference to products produced within country) were few of the remarkable events in indian history. He inspired people to join the independence movement without causing any harm to anyone. At the end of 1946 the entire nation stood with him to fight for a nobel purpose.

Gandhiji lived his life with simplicity. This simplicity attracted people like Nelson Mandela. He was inspired by Gandhi’s thoughts and applied the same in his life as well as his country, Africa. Mandela helped Africa to take a breath of freedom. many people still follow not only Gandhiji’s thoughts but also his guidelines. Today movies like My name is gandhi, Munabhai MBBS are based on either his life or thoughts. Furthermore, one famous quote by him was, If someone slaps u on one cheek then u present him your other cheek. The person will feel ashamed and will surely improve in his life.

Last but not the least, his life was filled with morality, hard feelings against violence and sympathy for poor people therefore everyone from all over world bows before him. Nathuram Gondse shot him and at the end of his life, Gandhi asked to forgive Nathuram. In his honour, Indian government prints currency having his picture on it. Hence, proudly I can say there was no one like him in past, no one in the present and there is very less probability that we will have a Gandhi in the future.