leaders like John F. Kennedy and Martin luther King have made important contributions to the people of the United States. Name another world leader you think is important. Give specific reasons for your choice.

Leaders influence others in numerous ways. Many help others with their philanthropy and wisdom. In past this world has created many great leaders who have changed the ideology for good. One of them who impacted lives of millions of people with his moral ideologies that held true to not only that era but also today was Mohandas Karamchand Gandhi popularly known as Mahatma Gandhi. I have two reasons to support my answer.

First, he is revered as the father of the nation in India. He promoted non-violence and satyagrah (upliftment of truth) that played a crucial role to eradicate British rule from India by strategizing rallies and protests that undermined British rule in India without any physical fight. One of the most famous non-violent movements was the Dandi march, which was protest against salt tax levied by British government that affected common people. This showed the characteristics of a person who walked the talk and lead by example, millions of people not only in India but also around the globe.

Second, he instigated world peace, religious harmony and equality towards all. India is a country where people reside from different cultures and religion. His speech and love for fellow countrymen made them united towards common enemy. He helped in abolishing myth of untouchable cast by treating them as equals by giving them home in his ashram. He also penned letter to Hitler pleading to spare lives of Jews for the sake of humanity. His humble and kind nature inspires people around the world to instill these qualities. He also tore down the British industry by promoting hand made products and persuaded people to do their own work.

Seldom do we see that the influence of world leaders is not only confined to the general public but the other fellow world leaders also and Mahatma Gandhi is one such exception. A man with stellar attitude towards the masses and a leader who believed that unity and truth are the weapons with which any battles can be won truly deserves utmost reverence.