leadership naturally or acquied

Whether leadership or any other personality traits, are attainable qualities or not, depends on the lens through which one is looking. Some may argue that people can be trained to acquire any kind of characteristics they might desire, while others might believe that a person's nature cannot be altered. All that said, I believe that a characteristic such as leadership cannot be learned. I will demonstrate my ideas further as follows.

Firstly, I believe that a person's qualities depend to a great extent on their early years of childhood and the environment they have grown in. In my opinion, while some conditions and challenges a child might face in early childhood can contribute to the formation of a great leader in the future, different environments can have such irreversible effects on a person's personality that they may require extensive practice and self-awareness to be able to lead. For example, I am a first child and my family was in critical conditions in my early years of school. Thus, I had to comfort my family members and my little brother in addition to managing my day-to-day life and studies. This led to the development of leadership skills in my personality. On the contrary, my younger brother was always cared for and supported. He had all the help he required in early childhood and our family was in better condition. So, I think this might be one of the reasons he does not possess acceptable leadership qualities now.

Secondly, when it comes to leadership, one must point out all the disadvantages that come with this particular quality. Although it is quite enjoyable to be in charge and assert your ideas, leadership comes with ample responsibility as well. People who have not been leaders their whole life experience the relief that one gets from following. When a team fails or does not deliver what is required of them adequately, their leader takes the blame most of all. Subsequently, many people who are not natural leaders would not be too eager to work tirelessly on themselves to make the change. Frankly, not being a leader is less stress and less work. For example, I had a friend in a research team who was more qualified than the leader but when I asked her why she did not run the team, she pointed out there is too much responsibility, and she did not believe she could handle it.

In conclusion, a personality trait such as leadership is not acquirable because its formation is rooted in the early years of childhood, and people are not inclined to do the hard work it takes due to the abundance of responsibilities that comes with leadership.