magine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do? Interrupt and correct the mistake right away, Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader, Say nothing

It is always a hard to communicate efficiently and politely at the same time. At school, students often encounter a situation which they are confused at professor's erroneous points but not knowing how to raise the question appropriately. This happens in meetings as well. When your boss is saying something that you think is wrong, it is difficult to ask for clarification without annoying him. It is highly debated what would be the best thing to do when facing the dilemma, interrupting and correcting the mistake right away, seeking clarification to the speaker privately afterwards, or doing nothing. In my opinion, talking to the speaker afterwards when the meeting is over is the best choice.

Clarifying the confusing points directly to the speaker is beneficial to both you and the speaker. As a starter, the speaker may provide the reasoning behind his/her words thus you can gain perspective and knowledge that you once overlook. Furthermore, if the speaker recognizes his/her mistake, your move help him/her correct the errors and make better content for the next time. For example, when I was once in a strategic management class, the professor talked about specialized strategy. The definition is completely different from what I had learned before. Therefore, I went to my professor and asked for further clarity. She explained the difference of the usage of 'specialized' in strategic management and marketing in details and I learned a lot from her explanation.

However, some may claim validity of the argument that speaking up during the meeting or the class can help all audience to learn the reasoning behind the speaker's words and perhaps ensuring the audience have better chance learning the right thing. At first glance, the argument seems to be plausible, but further reflection reveals that it leaves out several significant factors that need to be addressed to substantiate its stance. It is hard to know people's real personalities as well as their tempers. Randomly interrupting a meeting or a lecture may regard as a rude behavior for some people. Besides, you may bring awkward and embarrassing moments to the speaker. Thus, it is risky to simply interrupt in the middle of the talk.Therefore, the conclusion lacks credibility because the evidence cited above doesn’t lend strong support to what they claim.

To sum up, it is better to wait until the meeting or the class dismisses and then ask the speaker for explanation since it can not only give you a chance to learn the reasoning behind the confusing points and help the speaker reinforce his/her content, but also ensure the act is polite enough. Of course, there may be some people who disagree with my point of view on this matter, however, I believe the reasons I have provided in favor of my point of view are stronger.