Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether the ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people or the ability to make new friends easily is more important for happiness remains a controversial debate. In my opinion, the ability to keep the friendship with several people over time is more important for happiness since the interaction with old friends is more relaxing and that there are more connections and memories built in the friendship.

If friendship lasts from a long period of time, friends would have better understanding about each other and thus it is easier and relaxing to hang out with old friends. Sometimes when you meet new people, you probably need to mask up your real self in order to leave them good impressions. By doing so, you would feel ill at ease and pressured at times. However, hanging out with old friends allow you to be yourself since they already know who you really are and what's better is that they accept who you are. Therefore, since old friends bring the interaction more genuine and relaxing, it brings more happiness.

Besides, having old friends means you possibly have more memories and stories shared with them and that leads to a stronger, firmer and happier relationship. I have friends from middle school and I still regard them as the closest friends though I have some new ones in university. That is because friends I have known from middle school went through so many things with me and that made them so precious. Having developed so many memories together gives me the special intimate feelings and as well strengthen our friendships. Consequently, the long standing friendship brings more happiness for me.

To sum up, having the ability to maintain old friendships can bring happier and more relaxing interaction. In addition, the copious memories shared with old friends made the friendships firmer and satisfying. Therefore, I think that the ability to maintain friendships for a long period of time is more important for happiness.