Agree or Disagree? It is more important for universities to invest in infrastructure and physical plant than to invest in keeping the faculty satisfied.

Providing outstanding education is the goal of all universities. It is highly debated whether it is more important for universities to have high quality infrastructure and physical plant than a high satisfaction among faculties. While some people claim satisfied faculty is more important so that they can provide better teaching to students, others hold the opposite opinion. In my opinion, I firmly believe that good physical facilities are more important.

To begin with, delivering extraordinary research result and academic performance often requires qualified physical facilities. For example, if a school does not have a good laboratory, it will be hard for chemistry students to complete experiments in practice and hence may lead to poor learning. Furthermore, if chemistry students need to work on papers about some specific chemical compounds, without the existence of labs, they probably cannot produce any result. Hence, qualified physical facilities are necessary for education.

Some people might argue that satisfied faculty will result in better teaching quality and thus students will benefit more. With further inspection, it is clear that without having qualified infrastructure and physical plant, the advantage and the synergy that better teaching will not exist. If a university recruits prestigious professor and contributes to his high satisfaction, the professor might give passionate lecture. However, if the lecture is taken place in a shabby classroom without a projector, an usable blackboard, and even comfortable chairs, it is hard for students to stay focus and understand thoroughly. Therefore, qualified physical facilities are key factors to ensure the efficacy of good lectures.

To sum up, it is more critical for universities to invest on physical facilities instead of faculty satisfaction because physical facilities are needed for both learning and doing research. In addition, they serve as the key factors for the efficacy of good teaching resource. Accordingly, investing on physical facilities should be the more important investment for universities.