Many companies provide important products or services, but also damage the environment. Some

people believe that the best way to stop companies from harming the environment is to require them to

pay a penalty such as higher tax or a large fine when they cause environmental damage. Other people

think there are better ways to stop the companies from harming the environment. Which view do you

agree with and why?

We are living in a sophisticated age which companies and our environment have a profound impact on our hectic life. People are always to make their lives more convenient, healthier and successful. Some people believe that in ordered to protect our living areas, companies which damage environment should stop, while others are convinced that these companies provide important goods and it is better that they pay a penalty such as higher tax. After carefully pondering it from several aspects, i strongly agree with the latter idea. There are some reasons, the most outstanding of which will be discussed in the ensuing paragraphs.

First of all, obviously, these companies are producing the basic and important goods for people. As a matter of fact, if these companies stop, people encounter with a lot of problems. To illustrate this fact, on needs only refer to result of this decision which people buy their essential products with high cost because after stopping these products should import from other cities or even countries. Seldom does this decision bring people benefit. Although these companies damage the environment, what results from stopping them are to enhance the rate of unemployment among people because most people miss their jobs. The noteworthy intelligible results, which conducted in our country, show that the high percentage of people missing their job due to closing companies, are ones having a lot of problems in their live.

The second reason why I agree with it is that, undoubtedly, the money gained by penalty such as increasing the amount of tax provides an opportunity for governments investing these great deal of money on renewable energy. The modern world offers abundant examples of governments which install solar panels or wind turbine are bale to decrease the consuming of fossil fuels. Hence, if I were to be a determiner in our country, I would have established a center to investigate the negative effect of each company and estimate tax based on their damage and consume these taxes on protecting environment. In addition to aforementioned notes, there is a well-known proverb in Persian, The equivalent of which in English may sound like this" the more government use the renewable energy, the more people would live longer"

To make a long story short, no one can deny the enormous positive effect of increasing tax for the companies that damage the environment.