Many criminals, upon their release from prison, return to society and commit further crimes. Why do they do this? How can the authorities prevent or reduce this phenomenon?

It is axiomatic that in today's sophisticated world, people are swamped with a plethora of problems, financial problems in particular, which may adversely affect their way of life. In this regard, they should find a solution so as to get out of it and feel a great sense of content. Although crime can be categorized into different types, by far the most prevalent one, in our society, is robbery, which I will also focus my attention on in this area. Since criminals are like other people, they will face numerous difficulties after being released from prison and the likelihood they commit a crime again is considerable. By taking these into consideration, I survey two reasons why criminals take their previous procedure and also will allude to two ways whereby authorities can preclude this phenomenon from happening.

The main reason for this dilemma lies behind the fact that thanks to the negative attitude of communities toward criminals, they do not show an appropriate reaction against them. By all means, others likewise have the right (are entitled) to be concerned about their security; however, they should strike a balance in their way of acting. Losing the trust of society in themselves, criminals will be unable to hold a position in any workplace, even a low-paid, low-skilled kind of one. Even so, they have no choice but to do an illegal activity to make a living. To the best of my knowledge, the pragmatic solution to this problem is providing criminals with an opportunity to engage in an activity, allowing them to raise enough money. For instance, the government allocates special fund for those firms which give the privilege of hiring to individuals with a criminal record who are inclined to put their abilities into practice rather than carry on their previous frivolous activity; then after a few years that they proved their honesty, the firm gives them a recommendation letter as a certification to offer to any workplace. Furthermore, it can also be possible that the government grants them with low-interest loan enabling them to run a business for themselves. The point is that paving the way for criminals to have a job sows the seeds of hope among them, and they never turn back to criminal pursuits that put them in danger.

The second reason for this issue has a lot to do with the fact that criminals find the penalty of robbery very low in comparison with the prospect benefit they can gain from. It is a well-known fact that when one makes a mistake while performing an activity, later, he or she strives to find a sound method so that never repeats it. To be sure, prison is the best place in which criminals will be able to entertain the idea of robbery and devise a precise plan to embark on it by sharing their thoughts with other criminals. In this way, should the criminals make a decision to return to the crime following their release from prison, not only will they avoid doing their previous errors, but they also give their best effort to minimize its risk; under such a circumstance, solving this phenomenon entails imposing more stringent regulations on those criminals who have not abandoned their illegal affairs. Given that the punishments are more severe, the criminals will give getting involved in a crime a wide berth. This means that strict legislation can deter former criminals from even thinking about a new crime since it will jeopardize their entire future.

In conclusion, both government and society provide the grounds for a crime to be repeated by a criminal. This is because when criminals are released from prison, people consider them as criminals again and never trust to give them the chance of holding a position, and because some criminals take the risk of being arrested by the police so long as the penalty of robbery is not so much compared to its probable benefit.