Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Sociologists take it as axiomatic that team working is one of the most momentous elements in every student’s life. Throughout the word, schools and universities endeavor to opt for the best approach to enhance the students' abilities in working as a team. In this regard, some people are of the opinion that conducting projects as a team and evaluating students in a group is a suitable method, whereas others might think that evaluating students by their own attempts is more advantageous. Were I forced to choose, I would prefer the former point of view to the latter one. My reasons are substantiated in the subsequent paragraphs.

The first reason worth mentioning is that team working cultivates sense of responsibility among the students; meaning, every student play a crucial role in a team as a member to achieve the team’s goal. Indeed, students learn to perform their tasks carefully to avoid any mistake. Actually, they do their best to seem responsible in the eyes of their peers. In such a circumstance, they gradually learn to be responsible in future especially in their jobs and families. I would like to mention a personal experience as a proof of concept. I vividly remember when I was at high school, my biology professor gave us a laboratory project which we had to accomplish it in groups. Each of us had different role and responsibility to perform tasks and hand in a report. Having been experienced such a beneficial work, I learned how to organize different tasks in a group and perform duties more efficiently. Later when I started my own business, I use lots of their thoughts to organizing my works and dividing different tasks among employees.

Another key point that makes me hold this belief is that team working and evaluating students in a group, offer them the opportunity of helping each other. That is, students can easily ask their peers about their problems and weaknesses. Indeed, since all the group members will receive same grade, they do not hesitate to help each other. One of my friends in a college, spent lots of his time to help me in mathematics due to the fact that we, both evaluated and graded same. Not until students help each other tackle problems, do they receive a remarkable grade.

To arrive at a conclusion, I firmly agree with the idea that working in a group and receiving same mark is a beneficial educating method due to the fact that this assessment not only cultivate sense of responsibility among students and prepare them for their future jobs but also they learn help each other unconditionally.