Many people have learned a foreign language in their own country; others have learned a foreign language in the country in which it is spoken. Which is better? Give advantages of each and support your viewpoint.

Nowadays, the most common way to learn a foreign language is by attending traditional classes in your own country. I think this methodology is relatively effective, depending on many factors: the student, the teacher, the number of hours of study, and the intensity and level of the course. On the other hand, studying a language in the country where it is spoken constitutes a whole immersion, and it would be equivalent to a process of incessant learning. From my point of view, the latter is the best way to learn a language for the reasons that I will develop in this essay.

First of all, when you live in a foreign country, you continuously need to use the language that you are learning. Consequently, you are applying what you have learned in the classroom to everyday situations. For instance, let's suppose you are learning French in Paris and the class is about the use of the past time. When you attend a meeting at night with French friends that you have met during your immersion language program, you can naturally talk about the past time in French. In this way, you are practicing your languages skills outside the classroom. On the other hand, if you are a Spanish native speaker from Chile, and you are learning French in a traditional course, you don't have many opportunities to practice your language, and the few moments that you have to speak French are with your classmates who are not native speakers. In Chile, it is very unusual to practice French in Chile with a native speaker, so you can't improve much, at least that you study by yourself very hard.

Second, an important way of learning a language is understanding the way you express yourself. There are many things that you don't say in the same was in English as in Spanish. For example, the verb to be in English has to translations into Spanish: "ser" or "estar." And each one is used in a different context. If you are a native English speaker learning Spanish and you are not exposed to these situations, you can get easily confused about the usage of these two Spanish verbs that are equivalent to one verb in English. I have met several Americans that have lived in Chile and most of them, if not all, have had some kind of confusion with the usage of this verb. As well as Spanish speakers do not know when to use "make" or "do" in certain situations because we - Spanish speakers - have just one verb for that. That's why I think living in a country where you are interested to learn their language is essential to understand some details of how to speak.

Thirdly, when you learn in your home country it is very likely that you are learning with no native speaker of the language of your interest. That is conspicuous because, of course, there are not many Germans in Chile, so most of the German professors in Chile are Chileans, and despite the fact the teachers can speak very well the language that they are speaking, it is not the same that learning with natives. I can illustrate this with my personal experience. When I was studying German in my city in Chile, there was a teacher whose pronunciation was a bit awkward from my point of view. I was not sure if she uttered the words correctly. When I traveled to Germany to improve my German, I realized that my teacher had, in fact, good pronunciation, but she had Chilean accent, which is something natural since she was not a German. Accents are a natural characteristic of every non-native speaker, so when you are learning a language from a non-native speaker, at the moment that you have to listen to a native speaker, you may get confused.

To sum up, I think that learning a language in the country where it is spoken has valuable advantages that are difficult to commensurate while living in your own country attending a traditional language course.