Most advertisements make products seem much better than they really are.

Did you have the same experience as I did that sometimes when you are encouraged by the great advertisements to buy the product and only to find that the product is not as good as the one in advertisement? This seems to happen quite often these days, because most advertisements make products seem much better then they really are. In this essay, I will elaborate my reasons.

First of all, the footage of the advertisements are specially edited, which means the subject looks a lot more gorgeous than it is in real life. This technic can easily be found in all most every advertisements, though it is used to different extend. For example, I have seen a lot of advertisements about shampoos. And they all extremely rely on this method. In the clips the hair of the celebrity, who claims the benefits of the product, is over-processed by computer to the extend that it is very similar to silk. But after we buy it, we realize that we can never make our hair as good as the one in the advertisement by using the products.

Second, most advertisements are misleading in some way because they put great efforts on emphasizing the advantages of the product and never speak about the shortcomings. What those companies are doing is understandable since they only want to boost their selling, but it can caused customers to by unsatisfying products. For example, my mom once saw an advertisement of a phone which has many new features that seemed to make it easy too use and also got nice look, so she thought it was time to replace her old one. But only after she used it for a few days did she discover that this is not the phone she expected because of the poor battery life of the phone and also the slow speed.

In a nutshell, most advertisements makes products seem much better than they really are because special effects are added to the product in the advertisement and the advertisements never speak about drawbacks.