The most important value to share with a young child (5-10 years old)

—Helping others

—Honesty

—Being well organised

It is significant for parents to teach their children important values when they are still young, because children will be more likely to listen to their parents when they are young. Therefore, many parents may ask that what is the most important value for 5-10 years old child to learn? In my opinion, child at this age should learn more about honesty.

First of all, there is no doubt that helping others is a considerable value to share with children. However, when children are at the age from 5-10, it is difficult for them to do everything by themselves. In other words, they still need help from other people, then how can they be helpful for other people? For example, when children want to take out something such as a box of toy. They might need their parents help because the box might be too heavy or it can be located at the top of the shelf. As a result, children at the age of 5-10 are still far too young to be helpful for other people.

In addition, being well organise is also an important value for children to learn. When children start to go to school. They need to deal with lots of studies and exams. Therefore, it is important for them to know how to organise their daily schedule. However, children at this age may still be too young to learn this. Take my self as an example, my mom start to teach me to be well organise when I was 12. At this age, I can have a better understand and actually start planning my time. If the children are too young, they may not be able to understand it, so it can be time-wasting. Indeed, most of the children at the age of 5-10 will no be able to understand how to become well organise.

Last but not least, learn how to be honest is the best value children should learn during this age. To be more specific, young children should learn to be honest to their parents, friends, or even themselves. When some difficulties happen on them, the only way to solve this is to be honest to themselves and find out the real problem. Besides, children can also keep their friendship longer when they are honest. Take one of my classmate as an example, he is extremely helpful and well organise, but he always lies to his friend including me. Therefore, we do not like him because we do not know when he is actually telling the truth. As time past, none of the people in our class will talk with him. As a result, parents should definitely teach their child to be honest. It can not only solve difficulties for children, but also have a better friendship.

To sum up, it is extremely important for children to learn an ability that can actually be beneficial to their life. Instead of learning how to help others and being well organised, I think honesty will be the most effective to children’s life. Therefore, it is the virtue parents should cultivate their child when they are young.