Movies and books can reflect the ideas and the spirit of a particular period What have you learned about a place or its peo ple from watching films or reading books Use specific examples and details to support your response

Firstly, we can learn a lot about culture and society by merely watching the characters that actors play in movies. We can notice the way actors communicate with their elders and friends. For example, when I was in my sophomore year in college, Korean movies were in trend, so, my friend and I would watch Korean movies an entire day, thus we learned everything about their culture even though we have never been to Korea. We knew that they highly respect their parents and the elderly. Also, about their traditional dress and their weddings and rituals.

Secondly, watching movies allow us to notice the different places and environments. Movies are shot at different locations and watching movies, we get to know about the various places. For instance, I live in northern India, but I have never been to south India, thus I still know how the places are in south India because I love watching many south Indian movies. India is a huge country along with richness in the diversity of various cultures. Residing in Northern India is a totally different feeling than living in South India, thereby watching different movies helped me to understand the different languages and cultures.

Finally, we can learn about the food of a different country without visiting them. Noodles and Momo are quite famous Chinese dishes however, such dishes are prevalent everywhere that's because of videos and the movies we watch. Likewise, Indian dishes are also very famous in other countries. Therefore, watching movies can also tell us about the dishes.

Movies are great way to reflect the essence of different places. We can learn about other countries' cultures and societies, foods and also about environments. AS a result, movies play an important role in our lives in teaching us about various countries.